Learning from our mistakes

George Santayana wrote in The Life of Reason that “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

That, apparently, is a lesson I need to learn, at least when it comes to dating. I’ll explain.

Last Friday, as I have so many times before. I went to the Abbey Pub. I was there for the same reason I’d been there many times before: It was the first Friday of the month and members of The Tossers (the band whose song “Where the Beer and Whiskey Flow” I stole for the title of this blog) were playing their monthly, free “First Friday” show. It’s an unplugged show and it’s always a wild time.

And this particular Friday, I had a date with me. It was someone I’d been out with a couple times before. But that night was our last date.

I was sort of surprised, but looking back, I realize I shouldn’t have been.

You see, I go to the Tossers’ “First Friday” shows pretty much every month and I’ve taken several dates there when I haven’t gone by myself. And without fail, every time I take a date there, it’s the last date I have with that person. And last Friday was no exception.

It doesn’t matter how many dates I’ve been on with someone. If they come with me to see the Tossers on the first Friday of the month at the Abbey Pub, it will be the last date. I’m not sure why.

And yet, even after this happened a couple times, I continued to bring dates there. And every time, like clockwork, it was the last date. If it was a first date, there was no second. If it was a third date, there was no fourth. And so on and so forth.

So I think the time has come to break the pattern. I’ve already invited a buddy of mine to next month’s first Friday show and he’s down for it. But even if something comes up and he can’t make it, I’ll go either by myself or with another friend. I will not bring a date.

Categories: Dating - horror or otherwise | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Learning from our mistakes

  1. Sorry you can’t find a lady who loves it as much as you 😦 Maybe you can pass the curse onto me so I can the wife there…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

